Ballpoint Pen Portrait

Recently, I finished a private commission where I was supposed to draw portraits. I am not a big fan of drawing proper portraits, but I am pleased with the end result. Not sure if I felt like making it extra difficult for myself or wanted to try something new, but for some reason, one of the portraits ended up being drawn with a ballpoint pen.

Photobucket

Good to know that I did have use for those slow days at work, with nothing to do, other than practice drawing with ballpoint pen on post-its. I am now wondering when I will need my awesome paper plane folding skills :p

2 comments

  1. ball-points are great! They make a line that is surprisingly responsive to pressure, and are capable of quite a lot of subtlety, unlike fibre-tip pens, which seem to be often sold as drawing tools…
    Well done! I also rather like the purple sheen where you have gone over the paper a lot.

    1. I agree! Ball-point pens are great for drawing. It is also probably the tool I have used the most to draw with after pencils. Thinking of all those years of drawing during boring classes all through school :p Thank you for the comment, and I’m glad you like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

